901 Amherst St., Winchester, Virginia
Framed by the Blue Ridge and Allegheny mountains, the Shenandoah Valley is renowned for its magnificent vistas. Now the history, art, and culture of this region is represented at a site that includes the museum, the 18th-century Glen Burnie Historic House, home to descendants of Col. James Wood, founder of the city of Winchester, and six acres of beautifully landscaped gardens.
A stately brick Georgian dating back to 1794, Glen Burnie is shown as it was when Julian Wood Glass, Jr. (1910-1992), Col. Wood’s last descendant, lived in the home with furniture, paintings, and other items from the region. Some date back to Glen Burnie’s first residents. The largest single collection of portraits by Edward Caledon Bruce is displayed here along with the impressive collection of art and antiques Glass acquired for his ancestral home. Outside, visitors can wander or follow an audio tour of the grand gardens graced with sculpture, fountains, and flowers, especially hundreds of rose bushes.
The museum tells the story of the Shenandoah Valley through films, oral histories, furniture, ceramics, fraktur, silver, textiles, and folk art. One documentary is devoted to a presentation of the Civil War. The Julian Wood Glass Jr. Gallery displays its namesake’s fine and decorative arts, including paintings by Thomas Gainsborough. The R. Lee Taylor Miniatures Gallery shows miniature houses and rooms collected by Taylor, the late curator of the Glen Burnie gardens. Another gallery presents changing exhibitions on a variety of topics.
Museum open Tues.-Sun. year-round; house and gardens Tues. – Sun. Mar.-Nov. Admission charged.