7 Water St., Stonington Borough
Salt air and storms took their toll on this lighthouse which was built in Stonington in 1823, and once it was dismantled, its stones were used to build the present dwelling and tower—from 1840 to 1889 the beacon for vessels sailing into the harbor. Today the quaint building houses the Stonington Historical Society’s museum.
Visitors view fascinating relics from Stonington’s days as a shipbuilding and whaling center (some handmade tools date to the early 1600s) and can climb to the top of the lighthouse on the original iron stairs.
Also here are artifacts from a War of 1812 encounter: the Battle of Stonington. The British Navy fired more than 50 tons of shells, missiles, and cannonballs at a local militia holed up in a makeshift fort in the summer of 1814, yet the men fought off the Redcoat’s ships. Stoningtonians still celebrate the triumph every August 10.
Open daily May– Nov. Admission charged.