It’s Illegal to Swear in Public in This One U.S. State—Seriously
tommaso lizzul/ShutterstockEvery state has its fair share of outrageous and dumb laws. Some have outlawed eating fried chicken with a fork, for example, while others prohibit throwing snowballs. The state of Virginia, however, just might win the day: “Profane swearing” in public is against the law within its borders, the Washington Post reports.
Yes, you read that right—Virginia law has banned uttering any of your favorite, foul, four-letter words. If you’re caught, you could be charged with a Class 4 misdemeanor and fined $250. Don’t miss the dumbest laws in all 50 states, too.
This state law has been in effect since 1860, according to the Post. Back in the day, anyone who was overheard cursing in public were fined $1 per offense.
Believe it or not, potty-mouthed Virginians still get charged for this crime, although those charges are few and far between. While the statewide stats are hard to find, police fined just three people for cursing over the past two years in one county of 230,000 residents. It’s important to be cautious of new laws when you cross state lines, but this shocking percent of Americans swear they’ve never left their home state!
No need to watch your language these days, then. Even the state’s lawmakers understand. “When you’re working [with] cows and a 1,400-pound animal doesn’t do what you want it to, or steps on your feet, every once in a while something colorful comes out of your mouth,” Michael Webert, a Virginia state lawmaker and farmer, said.
Think you’re innocent? Bad news, buster: You’re probably breaking one of these outrageous international laws right now.
[Source: Washington Post]