How to Delete Everything on Your iPhone

Ready to upgrade your iPhone? Before selling or recycling your old one, take these steps to protect your personal data.

Selling or recycling your iPhone is a great way to earn some cash and help the environment. But if you don’t remove personal data from your iPhone first, you could become an easy target for hackers. Fortunately, Apple has made it easy to erase all content and settings on iPhones as it works to improve privacy protection for customers. Here’s what to do before selling or recycling your iPhone, including how to delete everything on your iPhone. You’ll also want to avoid these mistakes that make your phone an easy target for hackers, too.

Why it’s important to remove personal data from your phone

Forgetting to wipe your data before trading in your iPhone could put your private information at risk. Why? “When you sell or recycle your phone, you don’t know where the phone goes,” says Eva Velasquez, president and CEO of Identity Theft Resource Center. “If you do not remove that personal data, it travels with the phone.” All of that data—including financial account information, frequently visited locations, and even behavioral biometrics—can easily be used by criminals for fraud, scams, and identity theft. That’s not the only cybersecurity secret hackers don’t want you to know.

Steps to take before you wipe data

How to backup iPhone

Before erasing your iPhone’s data, any personal files stored on your phone that you want to keep, such as music, photos, and documents, will need to be saved on a separate device. You can back up these files to a memory card or computer, or upload them to iCloud. Learn how to recycle or donate other outdated tech devices, too.

Backup iPhone to iCloud

An iCloud backup is simple and quick. Make sure your device is connected to a Wi-Fi network, then go to “Settings,” select your name, and tap “iCloud”—> “iCloud Backup”—> “Back Up Now.” Don’t disconnect from Wi-Fi until the process is complete. You can check the status of your backup, and see the date and time of your last one, by returning to the “iCloud Backup” folder and tapping on “Back Up Now.”

Sign out of accounts

It may seem like overkill, but signing out of your accounts and deleting any stored log-in information can go a long way when it comes to protecting your info from hackers. “That data could be readily used to make you a victim of identity theft or scams,” says Steve Weisman, author of Identity Theft Alert. Log out of Apple accounts including Apple Music, the App Store, and Find My Phone, and don’t forget to turn off Activate Lock, remove your iPhone from iCloud, and sign out of other linked accounts such as Facebook or Twitter.

Remove SIM card

SIM cards store a lot of information about you and your phone, including your contacts, telephone number, and SMS messages. To stop thieves from swiping that data, Weisman recommends removing the SIM card before trading in your iPhone. Here’s what hackers can do with just your cell phone number.

Transfer data to new iPhone

If you have iOS 11 or later, you can use Apple’s Quick Start feature to transfer your backup files to a new iPhone. Place both devices close together and wait for the Quick Start screen to appear on your current device. After choosing the Apple ID that you want to use, tap “Continue.” An animation will appear on the new iPhone. Hold your current device over the new one, centering the animation in the viewfinder. A message will pop up that says “Finish on New [Device],” and you will be prompted to sign in and manage the settings on your new iPhone. You can also restore your data, apps, and settings from your most recent iCloud backup, or do the transfer from a backup on your computer.

How to reset your phone and restore it to factory settingsrd.com, Getty Images (2)

How to restore iPhone to factory settings

Once you have safely backed up and transferred your personal files, it’s time to wipe your iPhone with Apple’s factory reset function. Go to “Settings,” —> “General” —> “Reset,” then select “Erase All Content and Settings.” After you enter your passcode or Apple ID, the iPhone will begin deleting its data, apps, and settings. This process will erase all of your personal information, restoring the phone to its original factory settings.

Now you can recycle, sell, or donate your iPhone knowing that your personal data won’t fall into the wrong hands. However you decide to dispose of your old iPhone, you don’t have to throw it in the garbage. Try using it as a baby monitor or 13 other genius uses.

Sources:

Close up of young woman having coffee and reading news on mobile phone in the early morning before workd3sign/Getty Images

How to Hide Apps on an iPhone